This is the "Home" page of the "Special Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Special Education  

Last Updated: Aug 13, 2013 URL: http://illinoisstate.v1.libguides.com/SED Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Frequently Used Library Links

 RefWorks User Login
      RefWorks 2.0 online tutorials
      Installing Write-N-Cite 4  (tutorial)
      Using Write -N-Cite 4 (tutorial)
      Milner's RefWorks Page

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)

List of Online Journals

List of All Article Databases

Online Catalog (books, media, print journals)

Locating a Known Item
If you want to track down a citation you have located, try copying the title into the "Search all library resources" box on the library's main page. Put quotations marks around the title.

 

Finding Articles

PsycINFO (OVID interface)
Provides citations related to the field of psychology, including citations for books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO is a very important source of information for special educators. 

Another potentially useful feature is that PsycINFO allows user to limit results to specific methodologies (e.g. "qualitative" and "quantitative" research).  To do this, complete your search and then click on "Limits" (just beneat the search box).  Then, click on "Additional Limits."  The box labeled "Methodology" will allow you to limit your search to numerous methodologies.
Video: Exporting citations into RefWorks when using the OVID interface

Education Full Text
Provides full-text of articles from as far back as 1996 and indexes over 750 journals back to 1983. With in-depth coverage of special education and cross-references for over 100,000 educational tests, this database also provides emphases on adult education, multicultural education and teaching methods.
Video: Exporting citations into RefWorks when using the EBSCO interface

Education Index Retrospective 1929-1983
Indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. It is the precursor to the Education Abstracts database.

The ERIC Database
ERIC is available in several different interfaces. There is no "best" interface, and both have unique features. How are ERIC documents cited using APA?  See Example 

ERIC (EBSCO interface)
The EBSCO interface emphasizes key word searching.  EBSCO allows users to search more than one database at a time, so another strategy you might want to try is to click on "Choose Databases" and add Academic Search Complete and Education Abstracts (or even CINAHL) to your search.  Remember than you must rely on key words (as opposed to subject headings) if you are searching across databases.
Video: Exporting citations into RefWorks when using the EBSCO interface

ERIC (OVID interface)
 The OVID interface makes it easier to identify subject headings, and it allows unlimited "boolean searching."
  Video: Exporting citations into RefWorks when using the OVID interface

ERIC (government interface)
This is a free interface and one that can be used when you are no longer a student here. The "Find It" button does not appear as part of the journal citations. Users must click on "Find In A Library" to link to Milner's holdings.

Academic Search Complete
A large, interdisciplinary databaseIf you are looking for a very specific term, you might want to use the drop box to search "all text."  Remember, however, that Academic Search Premier can only search the full text of certain journals that it has full text rights to.  Since it does have rights to many education  journals, this can be a very powerful search.  It can also result in a large number of "false drops" if the term you type in is one that is commonly used.

Another potentially useful feature of Academic Search Complete is that sometimes you can see other articles that have cited an article.  The search is not comprehensive because it only includes citations located in the Academic Search Complete database, but it is still useful.  For more comprehensive searches of cited articles, use Web of Science or Google Scholar.
Video: Exporting citations into RefWorks when using the EBSCO interface

Combined search of ERIC, Education Full Text, Professional Development Collection, and Academic Search Complete
Although ERIC is the only database that shows, if you click on "Show all," you can see the others. Remember that these databases do not use the same subject headings, so you will need to rely primarily on key word searching

Web of Science
This database is well-known as a citation analysis tool. Keep in mind that WoS is highly selective, which has both advantages and disadvantages.  Although it can be a good way to locate articles in "high impact" journals (journals that meet certain criteria), it does not cover some well-respected education journals. The international focus sometimes is not well-suited for all educational topics.  Also, keep in mind that although you can limit your search to the social sciences, this is basically an interdisciplinary search.
Video: Searching Web of Science and exporting citations into RefWorks

Sage Journals (Sage publisher)
Although not a database in the traditional sense, limiting a search to this relatively small group of journal titles by Sage publishing may be a useful strategy for locating a few citations from some  highly respected journals.  Try using the "Advanced Search by Discipline."  Note that you can "Select from a list of disciplines" or "Select from a complete list of journals."   Also, if you set up an account (which is free), you can create a list of searchable "favorite" journals.  You can also set up alerts to notify you when a particular article is cited.
Video: Searching Sage and exporting citations into RefWorks

Dissertations and Theses
Provides access to the full text of doctoral dissertations and masters theses.  For information about locating ISU theses and dissertations, refer to Locating Dissertations and Theses.

Search Across Library Resources (Advanced Search)  This service searches across all databases available from EBSCO.  This does NOT include the PsycInfo or  Dissertations and Theses databases.  In order to add these databases to a search, it is necessary to complete a search and then add from the list of databases that appears on the right side of the screen.  This service can be a very good way to locate whether Milner has access to known articles or citations.  Just type in the title of the known item placed between quotations marks.

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Detailed information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks from the Buros Institute. Provides full text.

Education and Psychology Librarian

Profile Image
Sarah French
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip