This is the "Home" page of the "ECO 320: Industrial Organization" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ECO 320: Industrial Organization   Tags: economics, industry, industry classification, statistics  

Guide prepared for Professor Goel's course.
Last Updated: Jun 7, 2014 URL: http://illinoisstate.v1.libguides.com/eco320 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Industry Classification

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is an economic classification system introduced in 1997 to replace the 1987 SIC system. NAICS codes are 6 digit numerical codes used to identify the primary line of business of North American establishments.  Many large enterprises have multiple lines of business, and therefore they express multiple codes.   

The classification was developed to facilitate the collection, presentation, and analysis of data; and to promote uniformity and comparability in the presentation of statistical data collected by various agencies of the federal government, state agencies, and private organizations. This new system was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, to make international comparisons easier.

 

Reference

Cover Art
Industry Research Using the Economic Census - Jennifer C. Boettcher and Leonard M. Gaines
Call Number: HC101 .B594 2004
ISBN: 157356351X
Does not cover latest census (2007), but still worth a look.

 

Welcome!

This page is intended to provide you with many of the research tools you will need to complete projects / papers for Professor Goel's ECO 320 course.  If you have any questions about research tools and strategies, don't hesitate to get in touch with me.  Email is always best.  Good luck!

Data / Statistics

Industry Reports

  • Business Source Complete
    Provides full text for more than 3,000 journals, including full text for more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Provides Datamonitor "Industry Profiles."
  • Encyclopedia of American Industries
    Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. Volume 1 covers manufacturing industries; Volume 2 addresses non-manufacturing and service industries. Look in the "Business" category to access this source.
  • IBISWorld
    Reports covering 700 Industries and 98% of GDP. Each report contains analysis and data on key statistics, industry structure including supply/demand chain, market characteristics, product and customer segments, cost structure industry conditions, key drivers, major players and market share, recent performance and 5-year revenue forecasts
  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
    A comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to popular Standard & Poor’s research products such as Industry Surveys.

Research Databases

  • ABI / Inform
    Search nearly 3000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, and more. Great source for trade & industry publications. Provides built-in NAICS "taxonomy" for building database search strategies.
  • EconLit
    Provides indexing and abstracts of journals, books, dissertations, and working papers covering every area related to economics. It now includes full text for more than 560 journals.
  • Web of Science / Citation Index
    Database contains business, economics, management and finance content, plus a built-in article ranking system.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Angela Bonnell
Contact Info
Milner Library, Office #417
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip